The basis for Parallallemande is a composition by Johann Sebastian Bach, Allemande from the Partita ll, BWV 1004 for a solo instrument.

The piece is composed of three sections of five minutes each : a solo by Thomas Hauert to a trumpet performance of the Allemande, a solo by Chrysa Parkinson or Mat Voorter to a violin performance of the same piece, and finally a duet to the two recordings layered one on top of the other:I’ve superimposed two recordings, one version performed by a violin, the other by a trumpet. Performances that are different in colour, dynamic and tempo as the two instruments offer specific qualities while posing certain limits. Listening simultaneously to the two presents a very particular aural experience. Outside of the obvious appearance of counterpoints, harmonies and dissonances, it’s as if the movement of the music (the melody, its dynamics) is lived spatially in our heads. At times, in order to follow both instruments, our attention is split in two; or we hear new strains because we missed a change in the melody and slid from one instrument to another without noticing. The dance is a bodily and spatial interpretation of the music, proposing a visualization of the phenomenon experienced while listening. However, the relationship to the music can also be seen as ‘interactive’ or reversible: the music proposing an ‘audiolization’ of the dance.

Concept & direction Thomas Hauert
Created & presented by Thomas Hauert and Chrysa Parkinson/Mat Voorter
Music J.S. Bach, Allemande from Partita ||, BWV 1004 (Alison Balsom: Trumpet / Antal Szalai: Violin)
Light design Jan Van Gijsel, Thomas Hauert
Production ZOO/Thomas Hauert
Coproduction Kaaitheater, Brussels (BE)

11 October 2006
Kaaitheater Brussels (BE)
16 August 2008
28 November 2009
20 March 2010
International Arts Festival of Costa Rica San Jose (CR)
21 March 2010
International Arts Festival of Costa Rica San Jose (CR)
2 October 2010
12 November 2010
15 April 2011
16 April 2011
16 March 2012